ASTA Solo and Ensemble

Date and place:

     April 7th, First Baptist Church of Decatur, The School of Fine Arts 123 Church Street NE, Decatur, AL 35601
Individual times will be assigned after forms are received.

Entry deadline – Monday, March 26. Postmarked (US mail) or hand delivered. You may send a PDF by e-mail, but your check must by received by April 2. Please contact me with questions.

Contact:   Chip Gulbro, Instructor, The School of Fine Arts, First Baptist Church of Decatur 256-503-0507

Solo Music:

    Orchestral String Instrument: Your piece must be at least at the Bach Minuet level in the Suzuki books to be considered for the Superior rating.

    Guitar: To be considered for the Superior rating your piece must be at least at the level of Carulli’s English Dance in A Modern Approach To Classical Guitar Repertoire Part 1, anthology by Charles Duncan

    However, students below this level may also participate. Easy pieces at the beginning of the books above can be entered, but the student is eligible only for a ribbon and comments (no rating or medal.)
Students who do not have a teacher must send a video or audio recording for pre-approval via YouTube or another easily usable format to enter.

    Students may use their printed music. They must bring a copy for the judge with the measures numbered.

    Click HERE for the Solo Registration Form

Ensemble Music

    Duets, trios and quartets may be selected from any source. Groups can be up to a maximum of 6 players.

    Click HERE for the Ensemble Registration Form

ASTA Membership

    Highly Recommended! See Solo registration page for fee categories.


    Will provide positive feedback and suggestions for improvement. Teachers will not judge their own students.


    Strongly recommended, but not required (Guitar students do not need an accompanist). A recorded accompaniment such as Smart Music may be used. The student should bring all equipment required – laptop, CD player, etc. No equipment will be provided. If an accompaniment is specified for the solo, student must provide one in order for the student to earn a Superior rating.


    All students will receive participation ribbons and their comment sheets. Students who earn Superior ratings will receive medals.



Past: ASTA Spring Violin Festival

March 14, 2015 at Samford University in Birmingham, Alabama.  

Past: ASTA Honors Festival 2014

November 7-9, 2014 at the University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa, Alabama.

The ASTA Alabama chapter website provides news of chapter events and member activities, and offers links to resources that are of interest to our members.